Tuesday, September 30, 2008

Lawrence Welk Plays Dixieland - Coral Records

Lawrence Welk Plays Dixieland
Lawrence Welk And His Dixieland Boys

Featuring Pete Fountain on Clarinet

1958 Coral Records CRL 57146 Mono / CRL 757146 Stereo

Selections Include:
Side One
1. China Boy (Go Sleep)
2. Sweethearts On Parade
3. Blue Moods
4. Should I
5. Pete's Tail-Fly
6. San Antonio Rose

Side Two
1. Barnyard Blues
2. When My Sugar Walks Down The Street
3. 's Wonderful
4. Tea 'n Trumpets
5. Thou Swell
6. Strike Up The Band

Liner Notes:

Since the inception of dixieland jazz as a regular part of the vastly popular Monday and Saturday night Lawrence Welk television shows, there has been a growing demand throughout the country for an album of this nature.

Here is a perfect successor to previous, overwhelmingly received Lawrence Welk albums by Coral Records. For the new dixieland feature on his shows, Lawrence Welk went to the source, New Orleans, and came up with one of the top clarinetists in the dixieland jazz field - Pete Fountain. Pete and his "Licorice Stick" are featured in the album as well as on the Welk TV shows.

This is the album you have been waiting for. Here, by popular demand, is dixieland jazz by the inimitable Lawrence Welk and his Dixieland Boys. Listen, and you will rediscover the remarkable Welk quality - apparent in any and all of his music.

No comments:

Post a Comment